November 23, 2004

Oh Doctor! Vote For Jerry Coleman!

Long-time San Diego favorite Jerry Coleman, famous for crying "Oh doctor!" after great plays, is one of nine present or former Padres broadcasters who are listed on the preliminary ballot for the Major League Baseball Hall of Fame's 2005 Ford C. Frick Award, which is given annually to a broadcaster for "major contributions to baseball." You can help put Jerry on the final ballot by voting for him at the following link:

Vote for Hall of Fame's Frick Award candidates

For the second consecutive year, fans have the opportunity to participate in the Ford C. Frick Award voting process. At the link above you will be asked to select up to three candidates from the preliminary ballot. The top three vote-getters will be placed on the final ballot for consideration for the 2005 Ford C. Frick Award.

Voting began on November 1 and will run through December 1. Only one ballot per person, per day, will be accepted. The final 2005 Ford C. Frick Award ballot, including the three fan selections, will be announced in December.

Named after the late broadcaster and National League President, the award has been presented annually since 1978 at the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. Each award recipient (not to be confused with an inductee) is given a calligraphy of the award and is recognized in the "Scribes & Mikemen" exhibit in the Library of the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

Here's info from about the Padres candidates:

The nominees for the Ford C. Frick Award have been announced and there are a number of candidates with ties to the Padres.

Jerry Coleman heads a list of names for consideration. Joining Coleman among those broadcasters affiliated with the Padres are Dave Campbell, Bob Chandler, Ted Leitner, Gustavo Lopez Moreno, Rick Monday, Eduardo Ortega, Duke Snider and Mario Zapiain Thomas.

Coleman has enjoyed a 41-year broadcasting career, including 32 years with the Padres from 1972-79 and 1981 to the present, with a brief respite in 1980 when he left the booth to manage the Padres. Coleman also worked as a broadcaster for the Yankees (1963-69) and Angels (1970-71).

Coleman also played nine years with the Yankees from 1949-58, and was named the American League Rookie of the Year in 1949 and the World Series MVP in 1950.

Former Padres second baseman Campbell has enjoyed a 26-year career in broadcasting. He began with the Giants in 1978 before moving on to the Padres as the second man in the booth from 1979-89, and finally to the Rockies from 1993-97. Campbell is currently working at ESPN as a television and radio broadcaster since 1990, serving both the play-by-play and analyst roles. Campbell spent four seasons (1970-73) as a player with the Padres.

Chandler was in the business for 32 years and was a part of San Diego's radio-TV broadcast team from 1972-2003. He has also served as the Padres' public relations director from 1978-83.

Leitner has been with the Padres for 25 years. The local media personality has also done play-by-play for the San Diego Chargers and Philadelphia Eagles, as well as San Diego State University Aztecs football and basketball.

Lopez Moreno spent his entire 23-year career with the Padres from 1969-91 as the Spanish language broadcaster.

Monday spent four seasons as a broadcaster with the Padres from 1989-92. He was with the Dodgers from 1985-88, rejoining the club in 1993.

Ortega has been in the business for 18 years, the last 13 with the Padres. The Spanish-language broadcaster worked with the club from 1987-90 and returned in 1992. Ortega also broadcast for the Giants during the 1991 season. A native of Tijuana, Ortega has broadcast the playoffs and World Series for CBS Radio's Hispanic Network and Cadena Latina since 1993.

Snider worked mostly as a broadcaster with the Expos, but from 1969-71, the Hall of Famer was a radio-television broadcaster and batting coach for the Padres. Snider was an eight-time All-Star over his 18-year playing career.

Zapiain Thomas spent 29 years with the Padres as part of the Padres' Spanish broadcast team from 1969-97.

Posted at 12:35 PM in San Diego, Sports